Planning Board


Guidance On How To Submit Written or Verbal Comments To The Planning Board

Regular meetings of the Planning Board are held on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of the month at 7:00 pm, unless otherwise posted.  These public meetings are broadcast live on local cable Channel 18.


Responsible for the oversight and coordination of the long-term planning of the Town of Mashpee, serving as the Local Planning Committee for the Mashpee Comprehensive Plan under the Cape Cod Commission Act. Responsible, per MGL Chapter 41, for adoption and amendment of Subdivision Regulations and review and approval of all proposals for dividing or re-dividing land, the construction of subdivision roadways and drainage systems and acceptance and release of performance guarantees for said construction. Responsible, per MGL Chapter 40A and the Mashpee Zoning By-law for adoption and amendment of the Board’s Special Permit Regulations, for review and approval of Special Permits for cluster subdivisions and multi-family residential or mixed-use development, for commercial developments in the C-3 and Mashpee Center Overlay zoning districts and for commercial or industrial uses in all other zoning districts that involve the construction of more than 10,000 sq. ft. of floor area or the development of lots over 5 acres.

The Board’s Consulting Engineer reviews, makes recommendations on, and performs inspections of all subdivision and Planning Board Special Permit projects. Recommends amendments to Town Zoning By-law and reviews and makes recommendations to Town Meeting regarding all proposed zoning amendments. Reviews and makes recommendations to Town Meeting regarding all Town road taking proposals. Reviews and approves any road names or changes for private roads.Representatives of the Board serve on the Historic District Commission, Environmental Oversight Committee, Design Review Committee, Community Preservation Committee and the MMR Military Civilian Community Council.

Board Members

Name Title
Evan Lehrer Town Planner

Planning Board

NameTitleTerm Expires

Mary Waygan



Joseph Cummings

Vice Chairman


Joseph Callahan



John Phelan


Dennis Balzarini


Robert Hansen

Associate Member


Evan Lehrer

Town Planner

Andrew Gottlieb

Selectman Liaison