*Check Out Our NEW Trail Videos and the NEW Interactive Trail Map! Click on the images above.*

*THANK YOU to those who came to the Mashpee Land Stewards and the Mashpee Herring Count Program Presentations at the Mashpee Public Library in March and April. The videos of these events are on Mashpee TV ( We hope to continue these events annually, and welcome any feedback!*

Welcome to the Town of Mashpee's Conservation Department. The Conservation Department and Conservation Commission are responsible for permitting and enforcement of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act, the more protective Town of Mashpee Wetland Bylaw, Chapter 172, and the Town of Mashpee Conservation Land Bylaw, Chapter 173. Under the Conservation Commission Act they are charged with the protection of a community’s natural resources. They are involved with open space acquisition and the management of conservation lands, including advocacy, maintenance and improvement projects.

Please see the tabs located to the left to explore the regulatory process, and the multiple ways YOU can help us in our efforts to preserve our beautiful portion of Cape Cod! A few options to consider are:

  • Joining the Mashpee Land Stewards to assist with monitoring our vast conservation lands
  • Joining the Herring Count Program to monitor the three active herring runs in Town
  • Joining the Friends of Mashpee National Wildlife Refuge, the second largest open space on Cape next to the National Seashore!
  • Enjoying our weekly Nature Tours, held Saturday mornings at 9:00AM at various conservation areas.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Andrew R. McManus Conservation Agent, Herring Warden (508) 539-1400, ext. 8539
Katelyn W. Cadoret Assistant Conservation Agent (508) 539-1400, ext. 8538
Cynthia Bartos Administrative Assistant (508) 539-1400, ext. 8540

Board Members


Dale McKay


Bradford Sweet


Thomas O'Neill

Ralph Shaw, Jr.

Chad Smith

Louis DiMeo

Steven Cook

Stephanie Simpson

Associate Member




Andrew R. Gottlieb

Selectman Liaison