Sewer Commission

Meetings are normally scheduled the 3rd Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm at Town Hall.  Additional meetings are scheduled as required.

The Town Planner serves as the primary point of contact with the Sewer Commission's technical consultants and administrator of consultant contacts.  He serves as the Commission's liaison with surrounding towns and serves as the primary public contact person on behalf of the Commission.  The Planner also serves as the liaison to several town departments and relevant Boards and Committees.

The Sewer Commission was established by Town meeting in 1987 under the provisions of Mass.  General Laws Chapter 41, Section 63 with the powers specified under Chapter 83, Sections 1, 2, 3, 3A, 5, 6 and 14 through 24 and is empowered to build, maintain and operate sewers and wastewater treatment facilities, and to assess betterments and sewer use charges to fund sewer construction and operations.  The Commission members were originally elected to three year terms, but are now appointed by the Board of Selectmen for three year terms under the Town Charter, with 5 members representing each of the 5 precincts and 2 members at-large.

The Commission, with the assistance of a number of consultants, has developed a Watershed Nitrogen Management Plan.  The Plan includes a long range plan for wastewater facilities and other actions needed to restore water quality in our bays and ponds.  The Commission has coordinated its planning with similar efforts in Barnstable, Falmouth and Sandwich, with whom we share the watersheds of Popponesset and Waquoit Bays.

Board Members

MemberTerm Expires

F. Tom Fudala



Joseph Lyons



Bradford Pittsley



Thomas Burns


Precinct 2


Precinct 3




Andrew Gottlieb

Selectman Liaison